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482-1-110-.01
Authority.  This chapter is adopted pursuant to Sections 27-2-17, 27-2-17.1, 27-7-43, and 27-8A-1, et seq., Code of Alabama 1975.

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance

Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama 1975, §§ 27-2-17, 27-2-17.1, 27-7-43 & 27-8A-1, et seq.

History:  New September 15, 1994, Effective October 1, 1994; Revised August 19, 2002, Effective August 29, 2002; Revised November 29, 2006, Effective December 9, 2006.

482-1-110-.02
Purposes.  The purposes of this chapter are as follows:

(a) To set forth the procedures for the renewal of licenses of producers and service representatives, hereinafter sometimes referred to generally as "insurance representatives" or "licensees", as is required by Subsection (c) of Section 27-7-14, Code of Alabama 1975.

(b) To implement the continuing education requirements for producers and service representatives set forth in Sections 27-8A-1 through 27-8A-13, Code of Alabama 1975.

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance

Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama 1975, §§ 27-2-17, 27-2-17.1, 27-7-43 & 27-8A-1, et seq.

History:  New September 15, 1994, Effective October 1, 1994; Revised September 23, 1996, Effective October 3, 1996; Revised August 19, 2002, Effective August 29, 2002; Revised November 29, 2006, Effective December 9, 2006.
482-1-110-.03
Scope.

(1) As to the renewal of licenses, this chapter shall apply to every person licensed in this state as a producer or service representative for any line of authority.

(2) In order to qualify for the renewal of their licenses, producers and service representatives licensed for the following lines of authority must comply with the educational requirements set forth in Rule 482-1-110-.05:

(a) The life lines of authority, as defined in Section 27-7-1.

(b) The property lines of authority, as defined in Section 27-7-1.

(c) Bail Bonds.

(d) Any combination thereof.

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of Paragraph (2), the educational requirements set forth in Rule 482-1-110-.05 shall not apply to:

(a) Any person exempt from licensing pursuant to Subsection (b) of Section 27-3-27, Code of Alabama 1975.

(b) Any producer whose license is limited to acting only as a producer for credit insurance, industrial fire, commonly known as debit fire, rental vehicle insurance, motor club, dental services, and legal services, or any combination thereof.

(c) Any nonresident producer or service representative who must complete the continuing education requirements in his or her state of residence.  The home state's requirements may be used to meet this state's continuing education requirements if that state recognizes reciprocity with Alabama's continuing education requirements.  A non-resident whose home state does not have a continuing education requirement or whose home state does not recognize reciprocity with Alabama's continuing education requirements, must meet the continuing education requirements of this state.

(d) All producers and service representatives licensed in this state for 15 years or more and who are 60 years of age or older.

(e) Any person who holds a designation as a Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriter (CPCU), Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC), Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU), Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC), CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER (CFP) certificant, Registered Health Underwriter (RHU), Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC), Certified Health Consultant (CHC), or Associate Risk Manager (ARM).

(f) Newly licensed producers and service representatives for 12 months following the effective date of their license.

(g) Officers of insurers who are not actively engaged in the direct marketing of insurance products.

(h) Persons who are active members of the Alabama Legislature during any portion of the biennial reporting period.

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance

Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama 1975, §§ 27-2-17, 27-2-17.1, 27-7-43 & 27-8A-1, et seq.

History:  New September 15, 1994, Effective October 1, 1994; Revised September 23, 1996, Effective October 3, 1996; Revised December 16, 1998, Effective January 1, 1999; Revised August 19, 2002, Effective August 29, 2002; Revised November 29, 2006, Effective December 9, 2006.

482-1-110-.04
Renewal of Licenses.
(1) All producers and service representatives licensed in the State of Alabama are required to complete an application for license renewal with the Department, which shall include the payment of the applicable fees, as set forth below:

(a) For individual producers and service representatives:

1.  All licensees, except as shown in paragraph 2, the biennial license renewal fee as required by Section 27-8A-9(a)(1) 
 $40.00

2. In the year 2007 only, for licensees born in even-numbered years, the license renewal fee is one-half the amount required by Section 27-8A-9(a)(1) 
 $20.00

(b) For business entity producers:

1.  In the year 2007 only, the license renewal fee is one-half the amount required by Section 27-4-2(a)(5)b.2. 
 $50.00

2.  Beginning in 2008, and in every other year thereafter, the biennial renewal license fee as required by Section 27-4-2(a)(5)b.2. 
 $100.00

(2)(a)1.  All individual producers and service representatives shall renew their license biennially based on their month and year of birth.  

2.  Licensees Born in Odd-numbered Years.  Beginning in the year 2007, the license of an insurance representative born in an odd-numbered year will expire if not renewed at the end of the licensee’s birth month in 2007 and every other year thereafter.  

3.  Licensees Born in Even-numbered Years.  In the year 2007, the license of an insurance representative born in an even-numbered year will expire if not renewed at the end of the licensee’s birth month in 2007.  Beginning in the year 2008, the license of an insurance representative born in an even-numbered year will expire if not renewed at the end of the licensee’s birth month in 2008 and every other year thereafter.  

(b) Notice is hereby given that beginning approximately seventy-five (75) days prior to license expiration, individual licensees can access the Department’s Web site for the purpose of completing their application for license renewal.  An initial individual license shall not expire within the first seventy-five (75) days of its effective date.

(c) All individual licensees shall complete an application for license renewal on the Department’s Web site by the license expiration date, to include payment of the applicable fee as set forth in Paragraph (1).  Any renewal not completed by the license expiration date will be subject to a $50 late fee.

(3)(a)1.  Expiration of Business Entity Producer Licenses in 2007.  All business entity producer licenses shall expire if not renewed on December 31, 2007.
2.  Expiration of Business Entity Producer Licenses in 2008 and Thereafter.  Beginning in 2008, all business entity producer licenses shall expire if not renewed on December 31 of 2008 and every other year thereafter.

(b) Notice is hereby given that beginning on October 1 next preceding license expiration, business entity producers can access the Department’s Web site for the purpose of completing their application for license renewal.
(c) All business entity producers shall complete an application for license renewal on the Department’s Web site by the 15th of November, to include payment of the applicable fee as set forth in Paragraph (1).  Between November 15 and December 31, business entity producers will be able to access the Department’s Web site to complete the application for license renewal, but will be subject to a $50 late fee.

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance
Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama 1975, §§ 27-2-17, 27-2-17.1, 27-7-43 & 27-8A-1, et seq.
History:  New September 15, 1994, Effective October 1, 1994; Revised September 23, 1996, Effective October 3, 1996; Revised December 16, 1998, Effective January 1, 1999; Revised August 19, 2002, Effective August 29, 2002; Revised November 29, 2006, Effective December 9, 2006; Revised December 11, 2007, Effective December 21, 2007.

482-1-110-.05
Educational Requirements.

(1)(a) All Licensees, Renewal in 2007.  Along with the renewal of license due to be completed in accordance with Paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-110-.04 in the year 2007, every individual licensed in this state as a producer or service representative for the lines of insurance listed in Paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-110-.03, and not exempt under Paragraph (3) of Rule 482-1-110-.03, shall satisfactorily complete such courses or programs of instruction as may be approved in accordance with this chapter in the minimum number of 12 classroom hours.  No person holding a license for more than one line or type of insurance shall be required to complete a greater number of classroom hours than is required of a person holding a license for a single line or type of insurance.

(b) Licensees Born in Even-numbered Years, Renewal in 2008.  Along with the renewal of license due to be completed in accordance with Paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-110-.04 in the year 2008, every insurance representative born in an even-numbered year and licensed in this state as a producer or service representative for the lines of insurance listed in Paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-110-.03, and not exempt under Paragraph (3) of Rule 482-1-110-.03, shall satisfactorily complete such courses or programs of instruction as may be approved in accordance with this chapter in the minimum number of 12 classroom hours, 1.5 hours of which shall be on the topic of insurance producer ethics or business practices.

(c) Licensees Born in Odd-numbered Years, Renewal in 2009 and thereafter.  Along with the renewal of license due to be completed in accordance with Paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-110-.04 in the year 2009 and in every other year thereafter, every insurance representative born in an odd-numbered year and licensed in this state as a producer or service representative for the lines of insurance listed in Paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-110-.03, and not exempt under Paragraph (3) of Rule 482-1-110-.03, shall satisfactorily complete such courses or programs of instruction as may be approved in accordance with this chapter in the minimum number of 24 classroom hours, 3 hours of which shall be on the topic of insurance producer ethics or business practices.

(d) Licensees Born in Even-numbered Years, Renewal in 2010 and thereafter.  Along with the renewal of license due to be completed in accordance with Paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-110-.04 in the year 2010 and in every other year thereafter, every insurance representative born in an even-numbered year and licensed in this state as a producer or service representative for the lines of insurance listed in Paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-110-.03, and not exempt under Paragraph (3) of Rule 482-1-110-.03, shall satisfactorily complete such courses or programs of instruction as may be approved in accordance with this chapter in the minimum number of 24 classroom hours, 3 hours of which shall be on the topic of insurance producer ethics or business practices.

(2) A person teaching any approved course of instruction or lecturing at any approved seminar or program shall qualify for the same number of classroom hours as would be granted to a person taking and successfully completing such course, seminar or program.

(3) Up to 24 hours of credit in excess of the minimum biennial requirement may be carried forward to the next succeeding biennial requirement only.

(4) No producer or service representative may receive credit for any approved course more than once in any reporting period.

(5) Producers and service representatives who have been licensed for less than twelve months at the time of their first renewal are not required to complete the educational requirements of this rule.

(6) In lieu of the number of classroom hours required in Paragraph (1), any producer or service representative employed by another producer or by an insurer to work only in the office of the employer and who is not licensed as a nonresident in any other state shall satisfactorily complete a minimum of one-half the number of classroom hours of approved courses per year required in Paragraph (1), to include one-half the number of hours required to be on the topic of insurance producer ethics or business practices.

(7) For the purposes of this chapter, “classroom hour” shall mean a unit of at least fifty (50) minutes of participation in an approved course.  This unit of measure shall apply to any classroom course, correspondence course, internet course, or other program and/or seminar of instruction approved by the Commissioner.  Not more than ten (10) minutes of any sixty (60) minute period may be used for breaks, roll-taking, or administrative instructions.  The total classroom hours, sometimes also referred to as “credit hours,” for an approved course will be assigned by the Department in the course approval process.

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance

Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama 1975, §§ 27-2-17, 27-2-17.1, 27-7-43 & 27-8A-1, et seq.

History:  New September 15, 1994, Effective October 1, 1994; Revised September 23, 1996, Effective October 3, 1996; Revised August 19, 2002, Effective August 29, 2002; Revised November 29, 2006, Effective December 9, 2006.
482-1-110-.06
Education Provider Requirements.

(1) The Commissioner shall, with the advice of the Continuing Education Advisory Committee, approve and authorize providers of continuing education courses and programs, and will designate any such course as being acceptable for the purposes of this chapter. Each such authority holder must apply annually for the continued authority to offer continuing education courses in this state.

(2) The courses or programs of instruction successfully completed which shall be deemed to meet the Commissioner's standards for continuing educational requirements and the number of classroom hours for which they are equivalent are:

(a) Any course or program of instruction or seminar developed and/or sponsored by any school, college, university, bona fide educational school, authorized insurer, recognized state insurance producers association, or insurance trade association shall, subject to the approval of the Commissioner, qualify for the equivalency of the number of classroom hours assigned thereto by the Commissioner.

(b) Any correspondence or internet course approved by the Commissioner shall qualify for the equivalency of the number of classroom hours assigned thereto by the Commissioner, provided said course has been authorized, developed, or sanctioned by a school, college, university, bona fide educational school, authorized insurer, recognized state insurance producers association or insurance trade association.  To be approved, a correspondence or internet course must include an appropriate testing instrument requiring a grade of 70 percent to successfully complete the course.  The examination must be administered by a third party proctor, who must sign an affidavit attesting to the fact that the student received no outside assistance in the completion of the final examination.  The proctor cannot be a friend, relative, or co-worker of the licensee, nor anyone with a financial interest in the success of the licensee taking the examination.

(3) The commissioner shall not approve a course under this chapter:

(a) That is designed to prepare an individual to receive an initial license under Chapter 7 of the Insurance Code.

(b) Which deals only with office skills.

(c) Which concerns sales promotion and sales techniques.

(d) Which deals with motivation, psychology or time management.

(e) Every authorized provider of continuing education courses in this state shall, in the format approved by the Commissioner, file a record of all licensees successfully completing each course or program within ten (10) days of the date said course or program is completed.  In the case of a correspondence or internet course, this record shall be filed within ten (10) days of the date the provider assigns a grade to the final examination required in subparagraph (2)(b).
(5) At the time of filing its original application for authority as a continuing education course provider, each provider shall pay a filing fee of $300.00.  Each year thereafter, every provider shall pay a renewal fee for the continuation of the authority to offer continuing education courses in this state of $100.00.  This renewal fee shall be paid each year during the renewal period of November 1 to December 31.  If the renewal application and fee are not received by December 31, the provider approval and all courses approved for that provider will expire.  Any fees paid by a provider prior to April 23, 1996, the effective date of Act 96-343, for qualification to become a course provider shall be applied as credits against the provider fees set forth in this chapter.

(6) At the time of filing for course approval, providers shall pay a course approval filing fee of $50.00 for each education course or program to be offered in this state.  Once approved, no additional filing shall be required for a particular course or program unless the course materially changes.  Please note that should the provider authority expire as indicated above, all courses approved for that provider will also expire.  Should the provider again become authorized, all courses must be submitted for approval and the course approval fee indicated above must be paid for each such course. 
Author:  Commissioner of Insurance

Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama 1975, §§ 27-2-17, 27-2-17.1, 27-7-43 & 27-8A-1, et seq.

History:  New September 15, 1994, Effective October 1, 1994; Revised September 23, 1996, Effective October 3, 1996; Revised August 19, 2002, Effective August 29, 2002; Revised November 29, 2006, Effective December 9, 2006.
482-1-110-.07
Compliance.

(1) Every producer and service representative subject to this chapter shall complete an application for license renewal in accordance with Rule 482-1-110-.04.

(a) The license of any individual producer or service representative failing to complete the application for license renewal within the time specified in Paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-110-.04 will expire but there is a 30-day grace period following the expiration during which time the licensee can renew with payment of the late fee plus the renewal fee.  If the individual producer or service representative shall complete the application for license renewal prior to the end of said 30-day grace period, along with the payment of the applicable fees, the license will not expire.

(b) Any business entity producer failing to file the application for license renewal form with the Department within the time specified in Paragraph (c) of Rule 482-1-110-.04 can still renew the license with payment of the late fee plus the renewal fee.  The license of any business entity producer not renewed by December 31 of the renewal year shall be deemed to have expired at midnight on December 31 of that year.

(2) Every producer and service representative subject to the educational requirements of this chapter shall indicate on the application for license renewal form the approved courses, programs or seminars of instruction taken and successfully completed since filing his or her last application for license renewal form.

(3) Any licensee completing an application for license renewal in accordance with Paragraph (1) above but failing to meet the educational requirements imposed by this chapter within the times set forth in this chapter shall, after a hearing thereon, which hearing may be waived by the licensee, be subjected to the suspension of all licenses issued for any kind or kinds of insurance, and no further license shall be issued to the licensee for any kind or kinds of insurance until the licensee shall have complied with the educational requirements of this chapter.

(4) If the licensee has complied with the educational requirements of Rule 482-1-110-.05 and has otherwise complied with this chapter, his or her license will be renewed.

(5) Upon a showing of good cause, the Commissioner may grant an extension of up to three months for complying with the educational requirements of this chapter.  The request for such extension shall be indicated upon the application for renewal form filed in accordance with Rule 482-1-110-.04 and shall be deemed granted if not denied by the Commissioner within thirty days.  The license shall remain in effect until the Commissioner makes a decision on the request.  If the request is denied, the licensee shall have thirty days from notice of the denial to complete the educational requirements of this chapter.

(6)(a) The Commissioner may grant an extension for complying with the educational requirements of this chapter of more than three months upon a showing that the licensee is unable to perform the normal duties of an insurance producer or service representative and should be temporarily excused from attending continuing education courses or programs.  The request for such extension shall be indicated upon the application for renewal completed in accordance with Rule 482-1-110-.04.

(b) If the request is for medical reasons, a statement by the attending physician shall be mailed to the department within ten (10) days of completing the application, indicating that the licensee is, in the physician's opinion, unable to perform the normal duties of an insurance producer or service representative due to a medical disability and should be temporarily excused from attending continuing education courses or programs.  If the request is for reason of call to active duty in the armed forces, military assignment forms shall be mailed to the department within ten (10) days of completing the application.  Requests based on any other reason will be handled on a case by case basis.

(c) Producers and service representatives who are granted an extension pursuant to this paragraph shall not be allowed to receive any additional company appointments until they have complied with the educational requirements of this chapter.  The only exception to this is in the case of one company merging with another and all producers appointed with one company are to be appointed with the other.

(7) The Commissioner may, after notice and hearing as provided in Section 27-7-20, Code of Alabama 1975, which hearing may be waived by the licensee, suspend or revoke the license of any producer or service representative who does any of the following:

(a) Submits to the Commissioner a false or fraudulent application for renewal of license, as a violation of Section 27-7-19(a)(2), Code of Alabama 1975.

(b) Submits to the Commissioner a false or fraudulent certificate of compliance with the educational requirements of this chapter, as a violation of Section 27-8A-2, Code of Alabama 1975.

(c) Otherwise files a false statement required by Chapter 8A of the Insurance Code in accordance with this chapter, with knowledge of the falsity of the statement, as a violation of Section 27-8A-8, Code of Alabama 1975.

(8) Any action taken pursuant to Paragraph (7) subjects the licensee to the suspension or revocation of all licenses issued to the licensee for any kind or kinds of insurance, and no further license shall be issued to the licensee for any kind or kinds of insurance until the licensee shall have complied with the educational requirements of this chapter. 

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance

Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama 1975, §§ 27-2-17, 27-2-17.1, 27-7-43 & 27-8A-1, et seq.

History:  New September 15, 1994, Effective October 1, 1994; Revised September 23, 1996, Effective October 3, 1996; Revised December 16, 1998, Effective January 1, 1999; Revised August 19, 2002, Effective August 29, 2002; Revised November 29, 2006, Effective December 9, 2006.
482-1-110-.08
Severability Clause.  If any provision of this chapter, or the application thereof to any person or circumstance, is held invalid, such determination shall not affect other provisions or applications of this chapter which can be given effect without the invalid provision or application, and to that end the provisions of this chapter are severable. 

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance

Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama 1975, §§ 27-2-17, 27-2-17.1, 27-7-43 & 27-8A-1, et seq.

History:  New September 15, 1994, Effective October 1, 1994; Revised September 23, 1996, Effective October 3, 1996; Revised August 19, 2002, Effective August 29, 2002; Revised November 29, 2006, Effective December 9, 2006.
482-1-110-.09
Effective Date.  This chapter shall become effective upon its approval by the Commissioner of Insurance, and upon its having been on file as a public document in the office of the Secretary of State for ten days.

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance

Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama 1975, §§ 27-2-17, 27-2-17.1, 27-7-43 & 27-8A-1, et seq.

History:  New September 15, 1994, Effective October 1, 1994; Revised September 23, 1996, Effective October 3, 1996; Revised December 16, 1998, Effective January 1, 1999; Revised August 19, 2002, Effective August 29, 2002; Revised November 29, 2006, Effective December 9, 2006.
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