FORM AL-PNS-4 (06/2014)
STATE OF ALABAMA ‑ DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Page 1
REGISTRATION OF PRENEED SALES AGENT


This registration form shall be accompanied by payment of a $25 non-refundable registration fee.  Make check or money order payable to “Commissioner of Insurance, State of Alabama.”  All requirements for registration must be satisfied within 45 days from date of request by the Commissioner.  An individual may begin functioning as a Preneed Sales Agent (PSA) as soon as a completed application for registration is submitted to the Commissioner by a Sponsoring Preneed Certificate Holder.  The registration, unless disapproved, will be issued for the remainder of the license year, which ends June 30 each year.  Certificate Holders must notify the Commissioner within 30 days after any individual’s status as a PSA has been terminated. On or after May 15th of each year, the Certificate Holder must renew all PSAs who were active on April 30th. Renewal of PSAs must be performed on-line at www.nipr.com. 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PART A (TO BE COMPLETED BY THE SPONSORING PRENEED CERTIFICATE HOLDER) ‑ PLEASE TYPE or Print Clearly
I hereby affirm that the Preneed Sales Agent (PSA) applicant described in this application is authorized to offer, sell, and sign preneed contracts on behalf of the Preneed Certificate Holder identified in this application and that the applicant has been trained in the provisions of Chapter 17A of Title 27, Code of Alabama 1975, as it relates to PSAs, preneed sales, preneed contracts, penalties for violations and the nature of merchandise, services, and burial rights sold by this Certificate Holder.
Name of Preneed Certificate Holder:____________________________________________________________________

FEIN:  ____________________________
Company Certificate Number: ________________

Address:  _________________________________________________________________________________________




Street or P.O. Box



City


State

Zip Code

Name of Principal for Preneed Certificate Holder:  _________________________________________________________

Principal’s Phone Number_________________________

Signature of Principal for Preneed Certificate Holder:  ____________________________
Date:  ____________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PART B (TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PSA APPLICANT) ‑ PLEASE TYPE or Print Clearly
Name of PSA Applicant:  ____________________________________________________________________________

List any other names by which you have been known (maiden name, alias, etc.):

_________________________________________________________________________________

PSA License Number*:  ___________
Social Security No.:  ____ - __ - ______
Date of Birth:  ____________________

*if already registered in Alabama








Month
Day
Year

Address:  _________________________________________________________________________________________



Street (no P.O. Box)


City


State

Zip Code

Telephone

Mailing Address,

if different: ________________________________________________________________________________________



Street or P.O. Box


City


State

Zip Code

Facsimile

I hereby affirm, under penalty of perjury, that all of the information submitted in this application, including the answers to the questions on page two, the citizenship declaration on page two and any supporting documentation attached hereto, is true and correct and complete.  I am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this application is grounds for the revocation of the registration and may subject me to civil and criminal penalties.  By signing below I also acknowledge that I have read and been trained in the provisions of Chapter 17A of Title 27, Code of Alabama 1975, as it relates to PSAs, preneed sales, preneed contracts, penalties for violations and the nature of merchandise, services, and burial rights sold by the above-named Preneed Certificate Holder and that I meet the requirements set forth in said law as a PSA.

Signature of PSA Applicant:  ______________________________________________
Date:  ____________________

The Preneed Sales Agent (PSA) applicant must carefully read each of the following questions and indicate his or her answer as “Yes” or “No” in the space indicated.  For each “Yes” answer to questions 1, 2, 3, or 4, you must attach a written explanation providing details and documentation of the final disposition of the case(s).
1.    Have you ever been convicted of, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with, committing a crime?                                                                                                              
Yes __ No __


“Crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony or a military offense.  You may exclude 


misdemeanor traffic charges and juvenile adjudications.  “Convicted” includes, but is 


not limited to, having been found guilty by verdict or a judge or jury, having entered 


a plea of guilty or nolo contendre, or having been given probation, a suspended 


sentence, or a fine.

If you answer yes, you MUST ATTACH to this application:

a.) a written statement explaining the circumstances of each incident,

b.) a copy of the charging document, and 

c.) a copy of the official document which demonstrates the resolution of the charges or 

any final judgment. 



2.   If your answer to number 1 above was “yes”, did the conviction or charge in question                        

relate, in any way, to the funeral or cemetery business?                                            
Yes __ No __

3.
Are you the subject of any pending governmental enforcement actions in any jurisdiction?   
Yes __ No __
4.
Have you ever had a license (or its equivalent) to practice any profession or occupation 

denied, suspended or revoked, or otherwise acted against?                                                    
Yes __ No__

5.
Are you now or have you ever been licensed as an insurance agent or insurance broker                    

in the State of Alabama?                                                                                                             
 Yes __ No __ 


If so licensed in the last 5 years, please indicate your license number _________ 

6.
Are you registered as a preneed sales agent on behalf of any preneed certificate holder(s) other than as indicated on page one of this application?    
        Yes__ No__   

      If the answer is yes, attach a copy of written consent (on company letterhead) from certificate holder(s)?
     Yes __ No__
           


No___    

If so, please indicate the names of the other certificate holder(s) 

      (attach additional sheets if necessary): 

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________
Under Ala. Act no. 2011-535, an alien who is not lawfully present in the United States and who is not defined as an alien eligible for public benefits under 8 U.S.C. § 1621(a) or 8 U.S.C. § 1641 shall not receive any state or local public benefits, including a professional or commercial license provided by an agency of state government.  Eligibility may be verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements program operated under the United States Department of Homeland Security.
[   ]
I declare that I am a citizen of the United States.

[   ]    
I declare that I am not a citizen of the United States but that I am lawfully present in the United States and am eligible to receive state or local public benefits.
INSTRUCTIONS:

1. PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT. Registration of Preneed Sales Agents (PSA) must be on Form AL-PNS-4 (06/2014).  This form may be reproduced.

2. All signatures on the form must be original. No photocopies or facsimiles of signatures will be accepted.
3. The PSA applicant must complete Part B of this form before the Preneed Certificate Holder completes Part A.  If the PSA applicant has previously registered in the State of Alabama and already issued a PSA License Number, please indicate the number.  If not, please leave blank and a number will be assigned.

4. After the PSA applicant has completed Part B, the Preneed Certificate Holder must then complete Part A. The Certificate Holder must carefully review the Applicant's answers to all questions, along with any and all attachments.  Please note that a principal of the Certificate Holder must sign the statement indicating that the PSA applicant “has been trained in the provisions of Chapter 17A of Title 27, Code of Alabama 1975, as it relates to PSAs, preneed sales, preneed contracts, penalties for violations and the nature of merchandise, services and burial rights sold by this Certificate Holder.”

5. Please attach a company check or money order in the amount of $25, which is a non-refundable registration fee, payable to “Commissioner of Insurance, State of Alabama.”  The application will be returned without processing if not accompanied by the fee indicated.  Multiple applications may be submitted together with one check for all combined fees.

6. MAIL the completed application to:
Alabama Department of Insurance



Accounting Division 



P.O. Box 303351



Montgomery, AL  36130-3351

For updates and other information, please visit www.aldoi.gov.

