Independent Adjuster Requirements
An "independent adjuster" is a person who, for compensation as an independent contractor or as an employee of an independent contractor, undertakes on behalf of an insurer to ascertain and
determine the amount of any claim, loss, or damage payable under a contract of property, casualty, or workers' compensation insurance or to effect settlement of such claim, loss, or
damage. Ala. Code § 27-9A-3.
Exemptions - Those who do not require an independent adjuster license.
Independent Adjuster Exclusions
Firms and individuals may become licensed adjusters.
Adjuster Lines of Authority
NOTE: Non-resident individuals and non-Alabama firms must permit Alabama
resident adjusters and Alabama firms to act as adjusters in their home state.
- Be 18 years of age or more.
- Must complete the required 20 or 40 Hour Prelicensing Adjuster Course from an approved
provider for the requested line of authority. Must take and pass the State final
exam and then apply for the license.
for which a 20 or 40 Hour Exam must be taken.
Property and Casualty, including Workers’ Compensation and Crop (40 Hour)
Apprentice Adjuster License
Property and Casualty, excluding Workers’ Compensation and Crop (20 Hour)
Workers’ Compensation (20 Hour)
Crop (20 Hour)
(new license type / 12 month – 1 time Only temporary
Apprentice Adjuster Property and Casualty, including Workers’ Compensation and Crop
Apprentice Adjuster Property and Casualty, excluding Workers’ Compensation and Crop
Apprentice Adjuster Workers’ Compensation
Apprentice Adjuster Crop
Apprentice must be supervised by actively licensed Independent Adjuster who can
only supervise up to 5 Apprentices at once.
Emergency Independent Adjuster
(Only for Declared Emergencies by the Alabama
Registration is through T.E.A.R.S. system online now requires fee of $50 per individual
Initial Licensing Process
- Must have completed the 20 or 40 hour prelicensing course and passed the state exam.
- Applicant must apply online. Click Here.
- Application fee of $20.00 and application fee of $80.00 will be accessed along with
a NIPR transaction fee of $5.00.
A $5.00 NIPR transaction fee will be charged for each initial and renewal transaction on top of the required state fee, for all license types. NIPR FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.
- To change/add a designated adjuster click
here. (Form AL-DP-1)
print your license.
- Initial individual Independent Adjuster license is effective until biennial renewal would be due. Individual adjusters renew their license based on their birth month and birth year, odd or even. See Adjuster Renewal Process for details.
Residents from California, Hawaii and New York applying for a Non-Resident Independent Adjuster license must take an Alabama exam based upon their respective states requiring our residents to take an exam under NAIC Reciprocity.
Residents from New Mexico applying for a Non-Resident Independent Adjuster license must take an Alabama exam based upon the Alabama Adjuster law.
Any non-resident individual choosing Alabama as their Designated Home State for the Independent Adjuster license must take and pass the appropriate Alabama Adjuster exam and complete the fingerprinting requirements.
Go to http://www.aldoi.gov/Licensing/Prelicensing.aspx to access the list of approved Prelicensing Providers. Highlight Adjuster to choose a provider that offers the Adjuster courses.
Initial individual Independent Adjuster license is effective until biennial renewal would be due. Individual adjusters renew their license based on their birth month and birth year, odd or even. See Adjuster Renewal Process for details.
There are two different initial licensing processes. Online thru NIPR and
online thru SBS.
NIPR Mandatory Online Process is for those non-resident adjuster applicants
whose home state licenses Independent adjusters. Applicant must apply online.
SBS Mandatory Online Process is for those non-resident applicants
whose home state, as listed below, does not license adjusters. These states
do not license Independent Adjusters (CO, DC, IA, IL, KS, MA, MD, MO, ND, NE, NJ,
OH, PA, SD, TN, VA, and WI;
NOTE: Cannot use AL as a designated home state unless applicant is from a nonlicensing
state and has passed AL exam).
* Partial SBS applications will be rejected and no refund given. Must reapply.
- To change/add a designated adjuster click
here. (Form AL-DP-1)
Address Change Form
If your address changes, please complete the
Address Change Form.
NOTE: Individual and Business Entity Adjusters now have the ability to update their e-mail addresses online, within the 30 days required by law in Alabama, through SBS Online tools.
You can access this by going to our website at www.aldoi.gov and under Producers/Agents either click on Print Your License or
View Your CE Info and that takes you straight to SBS and it will be under Email Maintenance.
Adjuster Renewal Process
Individual adjusters renew their license biennially based on their birth month and birth year, odd or even. Adjusters born in odd-numbered years will renew for two years in the odd years.
Adjusters born in even-numbered years will renew for two years in the even years. An e-mail notice will be sent by the DOI to all adjusters approximately 45 days prior to their birth month
where they will then be allowed to renew online with a renewal fee of $80. If your license is not renewed by the last
day of the birth month, the license is given a 30 day grace period with a $40.00
late fee plus the $80.00 renewal fee.
Beginning January, 2014 continuing education is required for the independent adjuster
license renewal as per the new Adjuster law (Act 2011-637) that went into effect
January 1, 2012. Independent Adjusters will be required to complete 24 CE hours
of which 3 should be in ethics.
MUST HAVE CE COMPLETED TO RENEW LICENSE.
Beginning January 1, 2013, excess credit hours earned in the previous biennial renewal period cannot be carried over to the next reporting period. Any excess is lost.
Non-Resident Adjusters who have met CE compliance requirements in their resident
state or designated home state’s CE requirement is exempt here. Otherwise, they
must complete Alabama CE.
States who do not license independent adjusters: CO, DC, IL, IA, KS, MA, MD, MO,
ND, NE, NJ, OH, PA, SD, TN, VA, and WI
States who do not require CE: AZ, CT, HI, ID, ME, MI, NV, NM, NY, OR, RI, SC, VT
(only requires CE for WC), WA, and WV
Business Entity Adjuster licenses are renewed biennially by December 31st in odd
years. Renewal fee is $200. The license is given a 30 day grace period, with one
and one half times the renewal fee ($300).
The renewal license can be printed by
If your license is not renewed by the last day of your birth month or your 30 day
grace period the license will then be expired and have a 365 day reinstatement period
from the last day of your birth month with a $160.00 fee.
Application Fee - $20.00
License Fee - $80.00
TOTAL INITIAL FEE - $100.00
Biennial License Renewal Fee - $80.00
Biennial License Late Renewal Fee = $120.00
Reinstatement Fee = $160.00